Crime and Punishment of the future

Discuss the evolution of human culture, economics and politics in the decades and centuries ahead
Water

Crime and Punishment of the future

Post by Water »

I don't mean punishing the future, you silly.

As a probation officer I'm curious about how others who are passionate about the future predict or hope crime and punishment will look like.

My job working with detainees and inmates, requires me to keep my eyes on the greater good for society - sharply focus on rehabilitation only and put personal feelings and judgement aside. It made me increasingly allergic to how the public responds to news about criminals - especially on social media. "Hang them, torture them, bring back the death penalty", and the inevitable contest between people to see who can come up with the worst torture because wishing pain on criminals makes you a good person (it doesn't, it makes you the same as the cheering mass around burning stakes during the middle ages).
The actual victims of the crime or their loved ones in my opinion get a free pass because of their emotional involvement though. I know I might want a criminal to suffer if they did something to my loved ones. However, I think a justice system shouldn't listen to me in that case, and only have the criminal compensate to me in a practically positive way (therefore I still believe in fines).

My work has gradually led me to believe that prisons will somewhere in the future be considered outdated, that the goal of retribution will fizzle out of the justice system, and the sole focus will be on rehabilitation and practical compensation only. As I said, this would still involve fines as compensation for damage and/or taking the freedom away from a dangerous individual for safety measures, but without the goal of satisfying the desire for retribution.

I predict this development based on several things I observe: